Nasser Al-Attiyah takes 2015 Dakar win

A fantastic drive has brought Nasser Al­Attiyah his second Dakar Rally win driving the X­Raid Mini. The Qatari driver secured his first win withVolkswagen in 2011 driving a Touareg. Al­Attiyah took lead early on in the rally but lost it to X­Raid team­mate Orlando Terranova after suffering a penalty. But it was just not enough to keep him away from the lead for long. He got back into the lead the following day and stayed there till the end taking 40:32.25 hours to finish the rally. A third place in the final stage of the 2015 Dakar Rally was enough to bring the X­Raid team top honours. This was the fourth consecutive victory for the X­Raid MINI team.
Giniel di Villiers finished the rally nearly 35 minutes behind Al­Attiyah to take second place in his Toyota. Krzysztof Holowczyc also driving the X­Raid Mini took the final step of the podium. 
Stephane Peterhansel, Peugeot
Reigning champion Nani Roma didn't have the kind of outing he would have hoped for. Right at the start of the 2015 Dakar Rally the Spaniard was forced to stop after his Mini suffered from oil pressure problems. To make matters worse he crashed out on Stage 10 marking an end to his campaign this year. Five time winner Stephane Peterhansel too couldn't make an impression finishing 11th in his Peugeot.


Post a Comment

Web Analytics